Beginner’s Chakra Guide

When our wellbeing is compromised, a shifted energy frequency is the first indication that something is out of sorts, by showing signs of dis-ease before it manifests in our physical bodies. Stress, emotional upset and negative thoughts can easily throw us out of balance.

Many of the eastern traditional healing arts have been used for thousand of years to restore this balance and harmony in the body. Some of these include yoga, ayurveda, traditional Chinese medicine, aromatherapy and chakra balancing.

So, what exactly are chakras? Chakra is a Sanskrit word and can be translated as “wheel.” These wheels are energy centers in our bodies that spin in a circular motion and vibrate in their own frequency. All chakras interact with each other, which means if one chakra is out of balance it is likely that the neighbor chakra may be affected as well.

Below is a simple guide to the 7 main energy chakras that keep our life force energy (prana, chi or ki) balanced between our body, mind, spirit, and emotions.

1. Root Chakra or Muladhara (root)

Muladhara means ‘”root support”, and this chakra is located that the base of the spine. This is the first chakra and has the color red. When this chakra is balanced, we feel grounded, supported, rooted, and at ease with our sexuality. This chakra stands for stability and our basic needs such as food, water, safety and shelter.

2. Sacral Chakra or Svadhisthana (sweetness)

The second chakra is located above the pubic bone and below the navel. The color is orange. When this chakra is balanced, you are connected to your sexuality, sensuality, and creativity.

3. Solar Plexus Chakra or Manipura (lustrous gem)

This chakra is located at the navel center, and the color is yellow. When this chakra is balanced, you feel self-confident, alive, playful, and committed to things. You follow through and keep a light-heartedness at the same time.

4. Heart Chakra or Anahata (unstruck/unhurt)

The 4th chakra is located at the center of the chest and the color is green and/or rose-pink. In a balanced state, you are flowing with love, compassion, kindness, forgiveness, and acceptance.

5. Throat Chakra or Vishudda (purification)

The 5th chakra is located at the base of the neck or throat and has sky-blue as its color. This chakra is the first one of the three spiritual chakras. In a balanced state, you communicate authentically with kindness, and love. You express yourself with ease and listen to others with undivided attention.

6. Third Eye Chakra or Ajna (command)

The 6th chakra is located in the space between the eyebrows or the middle of your forehead. The color is indigo. When in a balanced state this chakra allows you to connect to your intuition, inner guidance, insight and vision.

7. Crown Chakra or Sahasrara (thousand-fold)

The 7th chakra is located at the crown of the head and has the color violet or crystal-white. When this chakra is balanced, it offers a source of growth, enlightenment, and a connection to our higher selves, to every being on the planet and the universe.