DIY: The 4 Elements Tablescape

Thanksgiving is a reminder to give thanks for all the blessings in your life, starting with the food on your table. As you enjoy the food that was harvested to make your delicious feast, take into account the elements that helped it grow: Earth, Air, Fire, and Water. All of life on this planet (including your own!) depends on these four elements. 

Finding inspiration from these four elements by making each item in your centerpiece meaningful is a great start to decorating your Thanksgiving table.

Below are some suggestions for creating your very own 4 Elements Thanksgiving Table, as well as rituals to show gratitude to the chakras associated with each.

1. The Element of 


Include the grounding and nourishing element of Mother Earth in your centerpiece by including pots filled with rich soil and vibrant succulents, or simply include a fresh cut flower in a vase. Additionally, Earthy colors like soft grey, brown, green, or beige work well for napkins, coasters or placemats. [photo by Annie Spratt]

Connect to Your Earth Chakra (Root Chakra)

Place your hands on your lower back around the sacrum/tailbone area to access your Root Chakra, which is associated with the element of Earth. Feel your internal roots at the base of your spine and imagine vast, green fields, luscious rainforests, wildflowers, mountains, or your feet walking on warm sand. Allow this chakra to ground you and give thanks for the here and now.

2. The Element of Air

Represent the element of Air with aromatherapy diffusers, or burn sage, palo santo or incense. Watch the mist of your diffuser or smoke of your incense rise into the air and dissipate. [photo by David Martin]

Connect to Your Air Chakra (Heart Chakra)

Connect with your heart chakra, associated with the element of Air, by placing both hands over your chest. Take slow, deep breaths. Imagine a magnificent blue sky with clouds moving along, the wind the in the trees, the way a storm creates ripples on the surface of water. Open yourself to the love, compassion and kindness that flows from this chakra. Be grateful for the good in you and show yourself love.

3. The Element of Fire

Ignite the element of Fire in your centerpiece with candles. You can use candlesticks or votives throughout your centerpiece design. If you don’t want actual fire, use battery-powered candles or include orange and red fruits in your design to symbolize the element, such as tangerines, cranberries or persimmons. [photo by Arnold Leung]

Connect to Your Fire Chakra (Solar Plexus)

Place your hand on your upper abdomen near your stomach to access your Solar Plexus Chakra, which is associated with the element of Fire. Take a few deep breaths into the center of your core, as you look at the flickering candles. Imagine the warmth of the sun. Reflect on and give thanks for your passion, willpower, courage and confidence that comes from this chakra.

4. The Element of Water

Include the element of Water in your centerpiece by filling a glass vase with water (and flowers) or try placing decorative bowls of water with floating flower-petals or cranberries. If you don’t want to include actual water, you can simply use the color blue to represents water, such as blue glass stones or crystals. [photo by Christie Kim]

Connect to Your Water Chakra (Sacral Chakra)

Place your hands on your lower abdomen/pelvis to access your Sacral Chakra, which is associated with the element of Water. As you breath in, reflect on the natural beauty of water in nature. Vast oceans, secluded beaches, lakes, lush waterfalls, a tropical rainstorm, the tides moving with the lunar cycle, early morning fog, etc. Allow yourself to feel the depth of this chakra and show gratitude to the fluidity of your emotions it channels, including sensuality, inner wisdom, empathy and creativity.